Rusty Doxtdator Named 2020 Lester B. Pearson Award Recipient

Jun. 03, 2020

Ottawa, ON— The recipient of the Canadian Lacrosse Association’s 2020 Lester B. Pearson Award is the late Rusty Doxtdator. This annual award is presented to a member of the Canadian lacrosse community in recognition of outstanding contributions of sportsmanship and leadership in the game of lacrosse and to the physical and mental development of young Canadians through unselfish dedication as a volunteer. 


Rusty Doxtdator had a long-term involvement in the lacrosse community, serving at the national level for six years. Doxtdator served as the Indigenous Director on the Board of Directors of the Canadian Lacrosse Association (CLA) from 2014-2019. Doxtdator passed away three months after handing this position on to the new Indigenous Director in November 2019. The CLA and the lacrosse community lost a positive figure who championed the sport and its Indigenous roots. 


“Rusty is a deserving recipient of the Lester B. Pearson Award,” said Terry Rowland, CLA Director of Marketing. “He dedicated many years to lacrosse and now is the perfect time to recognize his accomplishments and show gratitude for all that he did for the sport of lacrosse in Canada.” 


In his role as Indigenous Director, Doxtdator chaired the CLA Indigenous Development Committee meetings, helped the CLA adopt more culturally appropriate language and terminology, and nurtured relationships between the CLA and Indigenous organizations. He also helped with the 150th anniversary of lacrosse that was celebrated in 2017, which included two re-enactments of Indigenous lacrosse games played in the past. Additionally, Doxtdator served as the CLA convenor for the 2017 Presidents’ Cup held in Six Nations.


“Rusty was an integral member of the CLA’s Board of Directors for many years. This award will be presented to Rusty’s family later this year in his honour. His contributions to lacrosse and to celebrating our sport’s Indigenous roots lives on,” said Shawn Williams, CLA President. 


One of the initiatives Doxtdator spearheaded was a positive image campaign. This involved the creation and distribution of stickers with the slogan “Honour Our Game,” which was intended to help provide a positive image for the sport of lacrosse. 


Doxtdator will be remembered as an active participant in the Canada Games Committee leading to the inclusion of lacrosse in the 2021 Canada Summer Games.



Past winners of the Lester B. Pearson Award are: 

2019 - Cheryl MacNeill

2018 - Dave Huntley

2017 - Joey Harris

2015 - Terry Lloyd

2014 - Mike 'Kanentakeron' Mitchell

2013 - Don Blacklock

2011 - Stan Cockerton

2010 - John Herd

2008 - Stew Begg

2007 - Sohen Gill

2006 - Jim Burke

2005 - Chuck Miller

2004 - Jim Price

2002 - Joanne Stanga

2001 - Bill McBain

1983 - Joan Gostling

1981 - William Hutton

1980 - Ed Linstead

1979 - Frank Huntley

1978 - Jack Fulton

1977 - Jim Bishop

1975 - Ken Newton

1973 - Morley Kells






About the Canadian Lacrosse Association     

Founded in 1867, the Canadian Lacrosse Association (CLA) is the governing body responsible for all aspects of lacrosse in Canada. Our organization is comprised of 10 Member Associations representing nearly 85,000 individual participants, including coaches, officials, and athletes of all ages and abilities. The CLA's mission is to honour the sport of lacrosse and its unique nation-building heritage, by engaging our members, leading our partners, and providing opportunities for all Canadians to participate. The CLA oversees the delivery of numerous national championships and the participation of Team Canada at all international events sanctioned by the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL). The CLA is proud to be affiliated with partners that share the same vision and values, including our corporate partners - New Balance Athletics, Warrior Sports, NormaTec Recovery Systems, Canadian Red Cross, Westjet, RockTape, OPRO and Baron Rings - as well as our funding partners the Government of Canada, the Coaching Association of Canada, and the Canadian Lacrosse Foundation. For more information on Canadian Lacrosse Association and the sport of lacrosse, visit our website at and follow us on FacebookInstagram and Twitter.


For more information, please contact:

Victoria Klassen

Communications and Marketing Coordinator
Canadian Lacrosse Association
Phone: 613-260-2028 ext. 302

RAMP Registration

Join thousands of association partners using RAMP Registration Solutions.

More Information

RAMP Official Assigning

#1 with Officials...for very good reasons.

More Information

RAMP Websites

Manage your identity from the palm of your hand to the top of your desk.

More Information

RAMP Team App

Keep your coaches, parents, athletes, and fans connected, seamlessly.

More Information