Chris Sanderson Award

The Chris Sanderson Award is presented to an organization or minor association affiliated with a Member Association that has demonstrated passion and commitment to grow lacrosse in their province, territory, or area.

Chris Sanderson was a respected lacrosse goalie and lacrosse coach. He played Junior A lacrosse with Orangeville and was a member of the 1993 and 1995 Minto Cup winning teams. As a goalie, Sanderson won the Bob Melville award for fewest goals in OLA Junior A lacrosse in 1993, 1994 and 1995. 

With a pro career from 1999-2003, Sanderson played for the New Jersey Storm, the Philadelphia Wings and the Baltimore Thunder in the NLL. In the MLL he played for the Toronto Nationals. He went on to become an assistant coach for the Philadelphia Wings from 2005-2007. 

Despite being diagnosed with a grade IV malignant brain tumor in 2008, Sanderson competed for Canada at the 2010 World Championship in England. Team Canada won silver with Sanderson as their goalie and he was named to the All-World Team. He also represented Canada at the 1998, 2002 and 2006 World Championships. Sanderson passed away in 2012 at the age of 38. 


Nominations for the Award must be forwarded in writing to the Lacrosse Canada Communications and Marketing Coordinator and the Lacrosse Canada Director of Marketing by September 1. Only MA Executive Directors can put forth nominations. Submissions must include details on how the candidate meets the minimum criteria set out below. Failure to provide the details will result in a rejection of the nomination.


In order to meet the minimum criteria for the Award, the association must maintain two of the following disciplines of lacrosse must be promoted by the nominated organization.

  1. Box lacrosse—girls/boys
  2. U19 female field lacrosse
  3. U19 male field lacrosse 
  4. High school lacrosse—male and female field lacrosse
  5. Elementary school lacrosse—grades 4-8


The Board of Directors may, by majority vote, approve one recipient of the Award per year. 

The awarding of the Chris Sanderson Award shall be announced and awarded at the AGM of the winning association. 



2022 - Norman Cédilotte

RAMP Registration

Join thousands of association partners using RAMP Registration Solutions.

More Information

RAMP Official Assigning

#1 with Officials...for very good reasons.

More Information

RAMP Websites

Manage your identity from the palm of your hand to the top of your desk.

More Information

RAMP Team App

Keep your coaches, parents, athletes, and fans connected, seamlessly.

More Information